Hello and a question about Keto living in the city with a busy job

(Adam) #1

Hi there, my name’s Adam and I started the transition to keto about a week ago inspired by reading Tom Watson’s Downsizing book. I’m T2 diabetic, diagnosed at the age of 20 and I am 120kg / 5ft11 with an HBA1C of 72.

I live in central London and I’m a primary school teacher which means I have a busy life. Not too busy to cook but busy enough that, a few times a week, I would like to be able to buy a prepared lunch or go out to dinner.

What sort of options can your recommend in your typical lunch places? I stood in Pret a Manger today staring at a wall of carbs and started to think about all the places I would have eaten before my lifestyle change only to think the same, they’re all a wall of carbs. Any suggestions, especially in Leon, Pret, Tesco Express etc. would be really, really helpful.

TIA, Adam

(bulkbiker) #2

Pret still does salads right?
M&S do lots of meaty low carb snack boxes (bloody expensive though).
Most mini supermarkets will have cold meats.
pork scratchings, hard boiled eggs, the list goes on…
You’d probably be better prepping something the evening before though and bringing it with you (cheaper as well).

(Adam) #3

Ah I didn’t even think about pork scratchings, I cannot believe I can eat those!

All the Pret salads looked okay but then they were on a bed of rice or grains which, obviously, you could leave but you’d not have much left over.

I do prep a lunch most of the time but, especially whilst I’m getting over keto flu, I’d love to be able to buy lunch on my way to work when I’m feeling like crud.

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #4

Hi, Adam. Hope all goes well for you.