Hello All! - UK Keto

(Max Scotthorne) #1

Hi to everyone,

This is my first post on the forum as I have only just discovered 2 Keto Dudes podcast and I am currently listening to Conventional Wisdom (Dec 19th 2016). Keto just gaining mainstream traction in the UK.

I am fairly new to keto i did start last year in July/August and loss a lot of weight quickly over Christmas I went off keto and ruined all the hard work. I have started back this month and am currently 7lb down. My starting weight is 165kg (363.7lb).

My wife has since joined me on keto (having previously being on Slimming World) and is impressed with the results. She has since converted a few of her friends onto Keto and it is now snowballing.

Excuse me for my scattered thoughts in this post I am writing this in parts while at work. I am looking to get some helpful support and talk in the community. I am also looking for some advice on getting my children into eating Keto as we do have a fussy eater that just enjoys chicken nuggets and chips (any advice would be helpful).

Thanks All
Max

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Welcome to the Ketogenic Forums!

The key to a ketogenic diet is the low carbohydrate intake. This keeps insulin low and promotes metabolic healing. The fat loss is actually a side effect of that healing, since elevated insulin is what traps fat in our fat cells.

A ketogenic diet can be quite tasty, so you may find it easier than you think to move your kids onto such a diet. Focus on the meat and on salads with tasty, fatty dressings. Perhaps there’s a way to prepare chicken that is nugget-like, but without the breading? Or perhaps your fussy eater will accept ground-up pork scratchings/pork rinds/cicciaroni/chicharrones (not sure which term you use) as the “breading”? My sister makes chicken parm with pork rinds instead of flour, and they taste great to me.