Have just realised how much I use food emotionally

Kia ora (greetings) from New Zealand everyone. This is my first post so hello all and I’d better introduce myself - I’m 45, not diabetic (yet) but overweight,
insulin resistant I’m pretty sure, and with a serious family history of diabetes, heart disease, stroke, etc, which I am determined to avoid. I watched my dad have a miserable 10-15 years of diabetes, ending in a final fatal stroke, before I knew how I could have helped him. I’ve been doing Keto for about 3 months (the forums and podcasts have been great) and have added in some IF now as well, previously I have been on and off low carb, sometimes on it very successfully and sometimes reverting to a SAD style diet…I never really knew why I would slide back into that as low carb definitely made me feel so much better! I felt a lot of shame about that, internally labelled myself weak-willed and greedy, and felt so guilty that I could watch my dad die but still not change - but now I have had a bit of a revelation (which I’m sure is obvious to a lot of people, but new to me) so I felt the need to shout it out!

I started Keto at the beginning of my Xmas/summer holidays (here in the Southern Hemisphere) and I was anxious about all the Xmas food but that was no problem at all, I simply ate delicious Keto food and ignored all the cookies etc, with no cravings at all. To me they were just decorations! Lost 7kgs (15 pounds?), my skin tags disappeared, lots of energy, feeling great.

But now I have been back at work for two days (a job that I love, by the way), and I have been immediately seconded onto about 6 projects, all with a lot of planning to do and materials to make…everyone at work wants something from me, my beautiful 12 year daughter has decided to teach me