Greetings! Another newbie here

Wow am I glad to find this forum! I was really lost!
Last week started taking Keto Os and following a LCHF diet. I was disappointed in no changes after a week and I was told to eat less fat.

I found the getting started topic very helpful here and forgot to print what my goal/ideal eating would be. When I get home from work I will get the app. I am anxious to read more of the posts here.

Is there a book you all recommend or topics to get me on my way? although I haven’t noticed much body change, I did notice yesterday that a bum knee that I struggle with felt pretty darn good. I am hoping this is a side effect of the eating plan.

:slight_smile:

(Siobhan) #2

Generally to start out it is <20g of carbs, moderate protein (.5-1.5g per kg of lean body mass), and fat to satiety.
On keto you do not need any “products”, powders, or anything else people try to sell you - just good food. You can use them if you want though.

You can find food lists and explanations at:

For starters. For food ideas you can check out

the recipes recipes recipes section of this forum
Among many other options

Don’t calorie restrict, and don’t restrict fat. Try not to snack, and if you find yourself hungry between meals add more fat to meal times.

Generally it takes 1-3 months (sometimes less, sometimes more, depends on the person) to become fat adapted, and start actually losing weight again after induction.

Until then try to focus on NSVs (non-scale victories) like your improved knee! You may also notice some other things like clearer/softer skin, less frizzy hair, less other aches and pains, more energy, looser fitting clothes, etc

And always remember to KCKO (Keep Calm and Keto On) and don’t be afraid of asking questions!

Thank you for your reply. When I get home tonight I will check out the links.