Goal weight

(Sarah) #1

I have been doing Keto for 5 months and have reached my goal weight of 9 stone 11. I have been reading up on carb cycling and wondered if anyone had any advice?

I like the idea of introducing a day I eat carbs but wondered would this be slippery sloap and will weight creep back on?

(Bob M) #2

It depends. At a minimum, don’t get on the scale for a while, as you can easily gain 5+ pounds (0.35+ stone) eating carbs, though that’ll be mainly water.

(Sarah) #3

From just one day or evening?
I have had the odd slip and eaten chocolate, quite alot at times, and scale never moved

(Allie) #4

Personally I can easy do the odd high carb day here and there now with no lasting effects, this is my seventh year now though (I think, I lose track :joy:), but when I make it an every weekend thing then the weight steadily creeps back up. Easy to lose again as soon as I tighten things up but have decided I prefer not to mess with things.

(Sarah) #5

Yeah that’s the worry it soon becomes every weekend so dont want to say once a week. Think if I have a slip then need to get straight back on the exercise and do a good fast to balance things out but not beat myself up too much as have reached my goal weight.

(Bob M) #6

I also eat chocolate – almost every day. But that’s not a day. That’s some chocolate after dinner. A day could be pizza, ice cream, candy, tortillas, rice…

I’ve been doing this 7 years as of 1/1/21, and it’s pretty easy to gain quite a bit of weight quickly. Why? Because you’re physiologically insulin resistant.

And, if you’re at all muscular (as I am), your muscles basically blow up like balloons, sucking in glucose. This is how body builders get big for contests (among a bunch of other things they do).

But it all depends on the person.

And a lot of that will come off quite quickly.

(Sarah) #7