Forbidden from treating patients with Keto?!

conversationstarters
science

Hey all!
I’m new here to the forums, but was hoping for some assistance or guidance from this incredible community. I’m a physician assistant practicing in primary care in the US. The medical director at my clinic is a staunch believer in the lipid hypothesis and low fat diet. Over the past eight months, I have guided a number of patients through ketogenic and LCHF diets with incredible outcomes. I’ve been able to help patients come off of diabetic medications, blood pressure medications, cholesterol medications, and lose A LOT of weight. Despite these successes, I was recently told by the medical director that I can not be promoting ketogenic or LCHF diets, nor can I even offer to assist a patient in doing so (even if it is was entirely their decision). Needless to say, I find this appalling and not at all in the best interest of our patients. Does anyone here have any advice for handling the situation? Specifically, any clinical folks that have gone through something similar? I know there is a “Show Me The Science” forum, but does anyone know, offhand, some great references in the literature that illustrate long term efficacy and safety of LCHF and ketosis? I’ve been compiling a list of my own, but would like to add as much supportive research as I can to it (Since I’m sure there will inevitably be a showdown). Thanks for any help you guys can offer!

(Brian) #2

Hate to say it, but maybe it’s time to look for a different place to hang your hat. As the assistant, I’m not sure you have the authority to go above/around the physician(s) you’re working with.

(LeeAnn Brooks) #3

Sorry I can’t help you.
I have been wondering how to find a dr that is encouraging of Keto. Everything I read says “consult with your physician” but based on other experiences with my primary dr, I think he would be very traditional and I don’t really want to have him put a guilt trip on me.

(Bunny) #4