For those thinking about quitting

I have been doing keto for a little over 2 years now. I have struggled and cursed Keto all along this journey. I have had pro’s and con’s with the diet but there is something I do want to share with you that might keep you from quitting.

I have always taken little breaks from Keto here and there, maybe a week or so but any weight gain would scare me back to it. This time I had enough. I wasn’t losing weight, I wasn’t happy, and I felt I was giving up so much for nothing in return. So I went off Keto January 6th.

During this time some things began to happen. Problems came back I had forgotten about.

My skin dried out on my hands and arms, I had dry patches, chapped lips, acne, greasy hair, and puffy eyes. My sleep degraded, I started staying up later and later. My sleep was fragmented and poor. my skin got paler and I felt in general…unwell.

I developed mouth sores again, my hair started to fall out more (not going bald or anything). I have steadily gained weight A LOT OF WEIGHT ( i went from 146 to 162 ) my legs are stretched with water retention. My clothes no longer fit well. I am perpetually in a brain fog, and my depression and ptsd symptoms have worsened.

Keto may never fix you weight problem. I have found keto very ineffective for long-term weight loss. You will need to use keto with exercise and/or something else to offset calories to continue weight loss once the inflamation is gone and you are in ketosis… but, for many people myself included, it eliminated things my body just can’t handle.

Carbs unfortunately are something I just can’t have. When carbs are part of my diet, my fasted blood sugar is about 115, even If I don’t eat anything for 24 hours. I am yet to check my blood sugar while on the keto diet but I am smart enough to know that 115 is awful high for a 24 hour fasted blood sugar level. My 100 year old great grandma is doing better than me and shes never been on keto lol.