First week wobbles

Yesterday was my first ‘proper’ day of changing to the Keto WOE. I turned vegetarian last Autumn and in order to make this diet work easily have opted to eat fish again. I also eat eggs and dairy.

My biggest hurdle yesterday was simply hunger. I ended up eating around 35g of carbs via nuts to try and feel full. In hindsight I should have scrambled some eggs or something instead but hey ho, done now.

I’m a nurse and back on nights now so trying to plan ahead. Carb treats surround me at work, from cake & chocolates in the staff room to my fave biscuits on the tea trolley.

It’s going to be a challenge I know but this is my plan:

Scrambled eggs with cream before I go to work.

Smoked salmon with mayo and green salad as my main meal.

Fat bombs made using cream cheese & almond nut butter.

Snack of avocado.

Macro wise it fits with 78% fat, 19% protein and 3% carbs. I know calorie counting is frowned upon but works out just under 1700.

Does this sound sensible? I really don’t want hunger pangs at work if I can avoid them.

Any insights welcome.

Thanks

Chezza :grin:

(David Brown) #2

Stay strong. All looks good with your diet. It’s quite remarkable how fast your hunger pangs disappear. Usually around 5 days and then it’s all down hill :grin:.
If you have to eat and the desire is too strong an old body builders trick is to have some sugar free jelly. It’s not great for you so don’t rely on it

Stay strong it will happen. I promise!!!

(hottie turned hag) #3

I know this sounds counterintuitive to weight loss but I say EAT MORE :astonished:
The last thing you want to do is be hungry when good keto food not available and grab something crappy.

To use myself as example, I am a barely 5’2", postmenopausal very small framed sedentary female so tally that up and you get someone who should have a very hard time losing weight and prob not need many calories either.

I eat a LOT on some days and little on others, dictated purely by hunger and satiety.