FB Debate about Carbohydrates

(Megan) #1

I didn’t intend to get into a debate but my friend on Facebook posted about her healthy potatoes and I know I shouldn’t have but I commented that potatoes aren’t the healthiest food. That set off one of her friends who said I should “Google the brain/carbohydrate fact… It’s fascinating!” So for laughs, I did and sent her the first link that came up and this was her response:

So this article implies that the American diabetes association, academy of nutrition and dietetics, and institute of medicine are all wrong, and that an all protein and fat diet is completely safe. I have a master’s degree in human nutrition and many text books and research articles that support the benefits of healthy carbohydrates. I’m sorry this article is lackluster and doesn’t support your theory that all carbohydrates are unnecessary or inherently bad.

I don’t want to get into it with her but it’s so frustrating! Thanks for letting me rant here.

(eat more) #2

maybe she’s unaware that text books are updated all the time because of research

but… she has a masters…no one cares…especially if you have to tell everyone you have a masters :joy::joy:

(Megan) #3

This is what she said earlier:

Carbohydrates are very essential in the diet. The brain works solely on the energy created from carbohydrates, not from fat or protein. And, all fruits and vegetables are carbohydrates, so to give them up means a nutritionally lacking diet. Google the brain/carbohydrate fact…it’s fascinating! :wink:

:joy:

(eat more) #4

maybe she figures she did enough of that learning stuff getting her masters and doesn’t need to know anything else :joy:

(Crow T. Robot) #5

Well, that’s easily disproven. Does the brain shut down when people fast?

(Megan) #6

Mine would’ve shut down long ago!

(Crow T. Robot) #7

I’m not leaving out the possibility that mine has and people are just afraid to tell me :smile:

(Megan) #8