Fasting to treat Asthma?

I’m on day 4 of a 14-day water fast to treat my asthmatic lungs with autophagy. Heard about this treatment going on in Russia from the documentary, “The Science of Fasting”.

Anyone had or heard of positive results treating asthma with fasting?

(VLC.MD) #2

Fasting is anti-inflammatory so it wouldn’t surprise me

(Erin ) #3

I would be curious to hear about this. I am a respiratory therapist and am curious to hear if this can potentially help some patients

Just speaking from my own experience, I am a lifelong asthmatic and I have noticed a significant difference in my symptoms. I used to need my rescue inhaler anywhere from 2-3 times a month, depending on allergies, etc. Since restarting Keto at the beginning of August I have used it exactly once. YMMV but I am certainly glad for the improvement.

(Marie Dantoni) #5

I have noticed that my breathing becomes shallow and more rapid when I eat wheat.

n=1, but my allergies and asthma have cleared almost entirely since starting LCHF/IF. I no longer take any allergies meds or carry my inhalers. I’ve been on these medications since I was 8. I actually didn’t realize it was allergy season last spring. This unexpected improvement in my health is keeping me on track more than the weight loss that brought me here. It’s so lovely to not wake up wheezing anymore.

(Andrew) #7

After breaking my fast last night the first thing I notice is that I can’t breath again. I’m not sure how long it takes to clear it up though. I only made it 4 days.

(Michael ) #8

I read that a lot of allergies might be caused by leaky gut which seems to be caused by sugar and grains. Another thing shown to help leaky gut in addition to cognitive benefits, creatine. So, great potential benefits of 5mg a day creatine monohydrate, besides just gym performance and muscle size

One of the major cause of leaky gut is from glyphosate, which is of course in sugar and grain. Dr. Zach Bush talks about this in his lectures.