Fasting makes me feel so much better

(Alec) #1

I have been fasting and keto now for about 20 months. I am very fat adapted. Carbs make my head feel woolly.

I am back on my favourite 5:2 fasting diet: I fast on Monday and Thursday each week, each fast lasting a total of 36hrs. Other days I eat mainly keto, but I probably eat a bit too much fruit (I love berries): but I also run, so I figure I burn the extra carbs off pretty quickly.

Last Monday I had a headache in the evening and broke my fast, and on Thursday I had a formal dinner and didn’t fast. So I came into this week slightly bloated, and I really missed my fasting breaks last week.

This week, today, Monday, has gone oh so sweetly, I just have to tell someone. I am not hungry, I can feel the ketones running my brain (I am buzzing and alive!), and I am thinking I could do more fasting days this week.

So, here’s my question: if I feel worse when I eat than I do when I don’t, is there something wrong with me? Or is it simply the ketones talking?

(MooBoom) #2

I can’t answer your question, I’m just here to give you a :raised_hands: for your fasting success! That ketone clarity when one is fasting is an amazing feeling.

A thought- maybe it’s not food you have an issue with, perhaps it’s ‘some’ foods? You could try an exclusion diet to see what’s causing the bloat (I’d look at fibre filled foods first).

(Hyperbole- best thing in the universe!) #3

I think a lot of people have that experience. But I think it is worth saying… You aren’t feeling better without any food. That is called starvation, and it isn’t terribly popular. You feel better restricting eating to certain days. Big difference.

(Carl Keller) #4

This was my first impression as well. Maybe the berries are not loving you back?

(Melora) #5

Hi Alec. I’ve been keto for about 3 months now and have tried fasting twice. Both epic failures. Did I try too soon in to keto?

(Stickin' with mammoth) #6