Episode 52 - Weight Loss Surgery Stories

(carl) #1

Richard Morris (@richard) and Carl Franklin (@carl) talk with three weight loss surgery (WLS) patients - Dr. Louise Reynolds (@LouiseReynolds), Donna Lordi (@Donna), and Daisy Brackenhall (@Daisy) - about their experiences, and how they all landed on the ketogenic way of eating. This is a 2-hour event!

Do you have a Weight Loss Surgery story, too? We’d like to hear it. Please reply.

(Frederick Finch) #2

I started following a Ketogenic Way of Eating on May 15th, 2016. At that time, I was 49 years old, 6 feet tall, and weighed 372 pounds.

I have followed a strict Keto diet since then - just over 8 months. As of January 28th, 2017 I am 50 years old, 275 pounds and continuing to lose weight.

My Keto Story:

I’ve been overweight pretty much my entire life. As a child, my parents gave me food as a comfort. Later on in life, I began to use food as a coping mechanism. When I graduated high school I was 6 feet tall and weighed 275 pounds.

Over the course of the next 20 years, my weight gradually increased. At the age of 28 and 320 pounds, I started working at a desk job that would keep me sedentary 5 days a week. I began experiencing lower back pain and spasms which were aggravated by inactivity. I was a sugar junkie and began a sordid affair with “Little Debbie”, consuming at least one or two Nutty Bars, Swiss Rolls, or other cheap sugar bomb pastries daily. Working right near downtown, it was easy to “forget” to bring a healthy lunch to work and instead grab a fast food burger, Chinese buffet, pizza, etc. I was quickly becoming addicted to food, specifically cheap processed carbs, and was constantly chasing my next sugar rush.