Encountering resistance from clients due to doctor advice

(Seth Lusk) #1

Hey guys… I am new to this community, but not new to the high fat low carb lifestyle or to nutrition. I am a personal trainer and nutrition counselor, and have been doing this for 6 years. I only in the last 8 months started getting my healthy life back by switching to a high fat low carb approach and have regained so much happiness, energy, and health in my life since doing so. As a nutrition counselor I encounter clients all of the time with the same issues I was facing with energy levels, or just not being able to get control of hunger cravings. I now know what works and the science behind it, but am growing very frustrated with how little I can do to help people, since the majority of them take their final decision on their nutrition habits from what their doctor tells them. And here in Switzerland, there are virtually NO doctors backing the high fat low carb approach. I know for a fact I could reverse their metabolic dysfunction and their unhappiness with their body and health if they would just take my advice, but any time I even bring up the idea of eating fat people laugh at me and tell me “my doctor would kill me” and then the brush off the idea and leave and go back to this “balanced healthy high carb low fat diet” with a new determination that it will start working eventually… and as they get unhappier they get less motivated to work with me both on their nutrition AND on their fitness… this is so discouraging, because I HAVE THE ANSWER… but the answer to them seems so absurd due to the cultural programming from their doctors and the articles they read in health magazines, that they won’t even consider that I might be right. I have miraculaously had 2 clients of mine reach such a low that they FINALLY gave in and tentatively TRIED my advice, and within less than a month they were dancing singing songbirds singing the praises of my advice… but then I have the other 95% of my clients