Early morning exercise

(Andreas Beier) #1

Hi folks, (TLDR below)

I’m fairly new to the ketogenic lifestyle and i used to train early in the morning, like 4am early.
On a standard diet there’s several precautions to make this possible:
First, you have to warm up meticulously, for at least twenty minutes.
The reason for this post though, I usually ate an amount of fruit, so that i could boost my blood glucose for the workout bout.
Obviously, that’s no longer feasible on keto, and I wanted to know whether someone has any experience with really early workouts and if I can go ahead and train fasted, or whether I should eat something specific before working out.

Thanks in Advance,
Andy

TLDR: When training at 4 am, eat anything, or just go fasted?

(Scott) #2

I have been running fasted for years. But be ready for some lackluster workouts. Until you are fully fat adapted you will feel weak and without any fuel in the tank. It will take months to get past this but it will happen.

It’s very individual what works. I can’t train not well-fasted but I do that in the afternoon as I am very much not a morning person.

You are new at it so there may be harder to train for a while, it depends, probably, I never noticed that but my training isn’t very strenuous and I got the vast majority of my calories from fat before keto.

Welcome, @Andy_Beier!
I always train fasted, as do most LC/Keto folks. The idea of eating before a workout is very strange to me now.
Please watch your electrolyte levels and, as others have mentioned, be aware that you may have an adjustment period in your workouts. Glucose is a quick and easy fuel and it can take the body a while to learn to tap into fat as a fuel source.

(Allie) #5

I can’t train after food, makes me :nauseated_face:

(Kenny Croxdale) #6

Warm Ups

The objective of a warm up is to do the minimum amount of work required for you to achieve your top set. that elicits the greatest training effect.