DXA Scan: Dr. refuses to schedule one

dexa

(Lisa MacDonald) #1

(I’m not sure where this question goes, so if I’ve misfiled it I apologize, but I’m a newbie so I’m starting here)

I went to my PCP for a checkup to get a baseline on my blood work when starting keto. During the checkup I got distracted (because she threw in a well woman exam) and forgot to ask her to order a DEXA scan.

When her office called to follow up on to schedule a mammogram (yay) I asked them if the dr. could please order a DEXA scan at the same time because the facility could do both. Her office called back and said that she said because I was not at risk for osteoporosis, that she would not order the DEXA scan. I explained that starting on a new WOE, I would like to use the DEXA scan to get a baseline on my body fat and lean body mass and could she please reconsider. Her office call back a day later and said that the DEXA scan could not be used to measure lean body mass and sent me to a hippie dippy wellness center that wants to sell me essential oils and chakra stones.

The scanning facility will not give me a DEXA scan without a doctors referral.

Any recommendations on how I can get one?

Hmm… I just googled Dexa scan and found a few places that you can get them as a walk in. I think they were about $100.

(Lisa MacDonald) #3

Well, that was an embarrassingly easy solution. Thank you so much!

(Trisha) #4

You’re doctor is probably thinking of the dexa that measures bone density. It’s different from the one that measures lean body mass. You might have to search for a place that specifically measures lean body mass

calling @TomSeest

(8 year Ketogenic Veteran) #6

Yeah @tdseest
YOU know more about these than anyone I know.
@richard had one too, over in Australia

(Richard Morris) #7