DXA Scan and RMR Results-need help

I have been on my Keto journey for nine weeks and got my first DXA scan and RMR today in order to get some baseline data to work from (I am a research analyst and love data).

I have some results and I would like to know how to adjust my macros based on the results for weight loss. In the past 2 months I have lost 22 pounds, which I see as good progress, along with decreased anxiety, more clarity, and just feeling good! I have been working on 16/8 and 18/6 eating for most of every week and did a 23.5 hour fast last weekend and will be at 22 hours by the time I eat tonight.

Most of the news (especially bf%) was horrrifyingly depressing but at least I now have a real baseline. Here is some other data:

RMR: 1513
PREDICTED RMR: 1729
They determined my metabolism is SLOW.
RER: (what I burn for fuel) 23% sugar, 77% fat
TDEE for maintenance sedentary lifestyle: 1664
Lead body mass: 118 pounds.

Does anyone know how I would use this data to help me generate optimal macros for health? Thanks so much!

(Banting & Yudkin & Atkins & Eadeses & Cordain & Taubes & Volek & Naiman & Bikman ) #2

While there is great disagreement among experts on protein, nearly everyone thinks LBM is the place to set it. So that 118 Number will come in handy regardless of whether you are a Naimanite or a Rosedaleophile, or anywhere in between. Your carbs are always 20 or 30 or whatever, percent winds up between 3-10 depending on the rest. And fat fills out your TDEE number.

Thank you. Yes, I always keep my carbs under 20.

(M G) #4

I am a data geek myself ( Biochem industry), and have had a blast quantifying as many metrics as Im able. It is fascinating to learn about my bodys response to this dramatic metabolic change. Quite something :smile:

DXA scans results give you the most accurate body stats. A pretty good baseline.
To get your macros you can use an online calculator to get a general idea. I like this one: https://ketogains.com/ketogains-calculator/ or