Driver solutions

(Robert) #1

Hey,
I am a driver of big trucks that slip seat for every dispatch, change trucks. When I leave the house I am gone for up to 4 days basically living out of two bags. The other problem is that I start work at all hours of the day so the Ceridian thing is basically thrown out the window.

Any ideas on running a healthy Keto thing with this schedule?

About 5 years ago I ran a Keto like diet while running flatbed, running mainly days, sleeping nights and I kept the same truck so I could stockpile food in the truck and better control my environment. I went from 305 to 265 pounds in a few months. This was after reading Why we get Fat and What to do about it.

Any ideas would be helpful. Remember living out of two bags.

Paul Thurrott from Windows Weekly turned me on to your podcast.

Help/advice with food choices please
(James storie) #2

I’m a truck driver as well, so I k n ow the struggle! I’m lucky enough to have an assigned truck, but I have slip seated in the past. If you have an electric cooler (mine’s a Coleman) you can do a lot. Sometimes I live on egg salad I make in the truck with boiled eggs and homemade mayo. I like to eat this with pork rinds! I also pre make a lot of meals and heat in a microwave, most truck stops have access to one. Sardines are a really good quick choice if you like them, I recommend King Arthur brand.

I would say keeping a stick of non perishables so you always have food available. I was watching programme about the problems of shift work the other day and they suggested keeping eating to as normal a routine as possible (as in as if you were working normal day shifts). If you eat at night, to eat light.

THis is a link to some info that went with the programme…

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/4DZ3Qrnxq065Hwbk5r3dSVJ/how-can-i-stay-healthy-when-i-work-shifts

Have you watched any videos by Scott The Truck Driver on YouTube?

(Guardian of the bacon) #5