Disordered Dinners

(Nathan Toben) #1

Hey all,

I am new to keto. Day 9. I have come to it as an endurance athlete with an ED. What I am experiencing so far is a decrease in the mental noise surrounding food, however at night, I am still burdened by those squirrely thoughts of - even though I am sufficiently full - going back for more.

In some places I have heard recommendations to just let my body eat until it is satiated but I think my disordered thinking is using this rationale to justify bad behaviors. Its only been about a week for me so I know that all these uncomfortable things are to be expected and to be patient, but I was hoping to hear from folks who could relate.

I might just need a kick in the pants that tells me, hey, be mindful, think about the improvements you will garner if you stop eating when you are full. Or maybe I am off-base and I do actually need to let my sometimes out-of-control hunger just loosen up and do its thing and eventually keto will self-regulate down the road, months from now.

A little confused as to which advice to take. Don’t count calories or count them? Don’t restrict or restrict to a reasonable degree? When I overeat, inevitably I take in more protein than is idea for ketosis so I think I may be missing out on a fluid transitional phase somewhat, however I am highly highly active, working out aerobically for hours each day.

Hope you all are having a good Tuesday, cheers

(LeeAnn Brooks) #2

In the beginning, it’s difficult to understand satiety and what it feels like, especially if you’ve either done a lot of calorie restrictive diets or been a binge eater. It takes some time and practice to understand what satiety feels like.

After 16 weeks, I’ve gotten much better at determining this, but I was completely lost in the beginning.

(Michelle) #3