Diminishing Ketone Levels

So, I’ve been working on perfecting a keto diet for about 2 months now. I purchased a ketone blood monitor to help me in the process.
I cannot not get into and keep my ketone levels up. I’ve tried eliminating cheese and nuts and all dairy even heavy cream, limiting my protein and most carbs.
I have been doing IF for a long long time and am now staring the week with a 48 hour fast. After the 48 hour fast, my ketones are around 2. After my first meal, they dip to around 1.7. A normal meal would consist of chicken, konjac noodles cooked in olive oil with some type of fatty dressing.
After day 2, my ketones are at about .7. They decrease until the end of the week at about .3.
I used mct oil and exogenous supps in my tea.
Any ideas what’s wrong? I’m not loosing weight and am tired more often then not.
Any and all suggestions are welcomed!

(Joey) #2

@Bobina1818 Greetings and welcome to the forum!

Could probably use some additional info, and more specifics to confirm you’re not letting extraneous carbs make their way into your diet, but…

Assuming that’s not the problem, then if you’re not eating carbs then you ARE in ketosis. Otherwise, after 2 months, you would not be sitting upright and typing into a computer. :woozy_face:

As for your ketone levels, yeah, they can wander all over the map. Mine have ranged from around 1 mg/dL to over 6 mg/dL and bounced around quite a bit in between. But as long as I wasn’t eating the carbs (which I wasn’t) it was pretty clear that I was (and remained) in a ketogenic state.

So my advice would be to relax about the BHB numbers. It sounds from your post that you’re doing everything right. Not knowing your current metabolic situation (T2D? Insulin resistance? age, gender/hormone issues, etc.) it’s hard to offer any further suggestions than to stay the course and give your body time to adapt and adjust.

Best wishes!

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #3