Deep Fryer or Air Fryer or ? ... for chicken wings and (any other ideas?)

deepfryer

(VLC.MD) #1

I’m thinking of getting a deep fryer.

Anyone use one for chicken wings ? is it alot of work to keep changing the oil ? What’s a fryer feature worth paying for ?

Does the oil take a long time to heat up ?

What is the best oil ?

or should I get an air fryer ?

I’m mostly interested in

(1) chicken wings.

(2) EASY BATTERED FRIED CAULIFLOWER | KETO FOOD

I guess I should start with just doing on the stove top to see how much I like them :slight_smile:

Any fryer / friers out there with suggestions ? (Total newb here)

(VLC.MD) #2

buying tips

Suggested oils
(1) peanut oil

(VLC.MD) #3

Cleaning Deep Fryer

lol

(VLC.MD) #4

Oil management

(VLC.MD) #5

Suggested oils

video - good

Coconut oil
Olive oil (can be used for over 24 hours before it starts oxidizing)

(VLC.MD) #6

List of foods to deep fry

(VLC.MD) #7

Fryer features

2 baskets (1 large, 2 small)
baskets that fit into base for storage
Capacity
How long to heat up
How to drain oil
baskets can hook on to drain the oil (once done)

Drain via tube

Just dump

I think just dump might be the simplest.

black interior - hard to see if it needs cleaning.

other tools needed

Need an oil can to pour into.
Need a funnel, with a filter

The Tfal has a filter in the bottom.

(Allan L) #8

Hi,

I purchased a deep fryer the other month specifically for chicken wings. Totally love them nice and crispy and cooked in lard.

8 minutes and I get the most amazing wings, eat 3-4 times a week as a snack!

(Shayne) #9

I used to have a huge deep fryer, but it was such a PITA to use and clean, etc., especially for two people.