Day 1 and Planning

newbies
apps

(Sharon) #1

Hi all, Im a newbie to this diet and today is my first day. Im learning as I go and trying to get my head around how to calculate my things. Anyone got a good app I could use which is simple any possibly free where I can log what I have eaten etc. Any good sites out there too which could help?

I have just used an online keto calculator and the results are as follows:

Based on your inputs, we suggest you eat: 1305 calories. From those, 116g fats, 20 g net carbs, and 46g protein.

How can I now track these?

(Sammy J Shuford) #2

Encourage you to look up Dr. Ken Berry on youtube. Many vedios on Ketogenic diet.

(Sammy J Shuford) #3

Carbohydrate in diet is NOT NEEDED. Your Liver can make all the glucose you need

IDK about your stats and personal needs but this is very low-cal and very little protein for many of us, even if one is a short woman (like me, for example). Well mine is special as I am starving below 130g protein but 46g is really low. It may be enough to maintain some minimal musculature for a tiny one but probably not ideal.

You can just eat as much as you like for a start, that sounds nice to me :slight_smile: Especially that you are a newbie. Sticking to keto is already some level of challenge, you don’t need to force yourself to eat fixed macros… One doesn’t need that ever. What if one day one is hungrier, needs more…? We aren’t robots. If it’s just a very vague idea, that’s better but I like to figure out what is realistic for myself. Calculators aren’t reliable at all (but I understand if someone uses one as the very first idea as they don’t know how much they need yet). If you are hungry, eat more, that’s very basic and I hope you already have that attitude :slight_smile:

Focus on low carb, enough protein, not too low calories… And eat more if needed!

Good luck!