Complete newby/Intro Any Advice Appreciated

(Chris) #1

Hey,

I just started a Keto Diet 2 days ago on 6/25. I am 35, 6’6" and 300lbs. Moderately active with a physically demanding job.

I did as much research coming into this as I could and tried to prep before hand based on the information I found. Seems to be a lot of fuzziness around the numbers when using a blood ketone meter.

Ill lay out what I’ve been in-taking, and what I’ve seen for my numbers and any advice or information you have would be appreciated.

The Macro Ive been following is 75% fat, 20% protein, 5% carbs. I want to still intake a minimum of 2000 calories as to not wind up in the hospital for starving myself.

Day one -I woke up and had 8oz of coffee with a tablespoon of ghee butter and a tablespoon of mct oil. I usually drink my coffee black so this wasn’t much of a change as far as sweetness. This held me over until about noon before i got hungry.
-Lunch time I ate 4 rollups of thick sliced swiss cheese and thick sliced sandwich pepperoni
-Snack I had a homemade fat bomb consisting of coconut oil, cocoa powder, swerve confectioners, cashews, and a touch of vanilla.
-Dinner was a 12oz grilled ribeye steak with a butter, coconut oil, pink salt, pepper, and a few dried seasonings marinade. Asparagus with a parmesan-garlic cream sauce.
-Snack was a homemade cashew butter cup. same chocolate base as the other fatbomb, but this one encapsulated cashew butter. Also had a cup of hot earl grey tea.
-Throughout the day I drank about 120oz of water. Refilled my 30oz tumbler 5 times. figuring ice took up at least one of the fills.
Only tested my blood ketones once after the last snack and it read “low”

Day 2 - Tested my ketones first thing and it read .4

• Breakfast was a cup of coffee with Ghee Butter and MCT oil again.