Clam chowder?

(Todd Chester) #1

Found a small can of chopped clams (clams, sea salt) without any weird chemicals.

Target: clam chowder.

I looked on the internet, instantly tossed out those keto recipes with 25,286 ingredients, and find rested on what I though would be doable:

can of clams
cream
chicken stock
crispy bacon
cauliflower
water
salt

You guys have a simple recipe you like?

(Bob M) #2

If you find something, that would be good. I just don’t know how to thicken it, as that usually uses wheat flour.

(Joey) #3

Some folks are fans of xanthan gum for such purposes. It has high gross carbs & minimal net carbs. I’d suggest researching it carefully to see if it’ll be something you want to explore. I have no personal experience with it as a food ingredient in my own cooking. YMMV.

(KCKO, KCFO) #4

Try Carl’s https://blog.2keto.com/recipe/carls-keto-clam-chowda/

(Bob M) #5

It looks like Carl used xanthan gum

I have to say that I’m a stickler for trying the initial recipe with no changes. Reading through those comments, I see so many changes when making it the first time…

(KCKO, KCFO) #6

I don’t make chowders, but to thicken up other soups, I use Carrie Brown’s favorite Konja powder. A little goes a long way so add slowly it thickens as it cooks. I start with 1/4 teaspoon to cup of liquid. It hold up well to the heating not all keto thickeners do that.

(Todd Chester) #7

I do not have any Konja powder. But I do have both Chia and Flax powder. I wonder if either would change the flavor in the wrong direction?

(Bob M) #8

Those probably wouldn’t work. If you try them, try them on a small part of it, say a cup that you separate out.

(Todd Chester) #9

A wise recommendation!

(Todd Chester) #10

Wait a minute! I use animal fat (including butter) and heavy whipping cream to make some very thick gravies!

(KCKO, KCFO) #11

Those will not work in a hot food, texture will be off putting.

I avoid using flax because of the Omega 6.