Choline and l-carnitine to work through stall?

science

(Mark Rhodes) #1

Going through some research papers and articles I have read it does seem as if carnitine a fat oxidizing amino acid can only be retained and used if choline is adequate. I have been working through my recent 12 pounds of fat gain since July 2018 due to nicotine cessation and found out that my weight gain was almost inevitable due to the link between nicotine and insulin sensitivity . Furthermore in researching this and posting about it @Dipper_Actual and @Nimitta brought in some really good points. Namita especially alerted me to choline and carnitine.

Although carnitine has been brought up many times in the Ketogenic Forums ( do a search) choline has not. The last time to my knowledge was @atomicspacebunny response in Does Keto cause insulin resistance?

However none of these links show the correlation between being able to use the carnitine and choline. The Suppveristy link I posted above discusses the relevance and has some good links within the article that talk about the relationship. There has been enough evidence supported in all of this for me to begin a supplementation program for 30-45 days of

220 pound male, 19% BF

• 1.5 - 3g of choline daily
  • 2 g of carnitine daily
  • 1 g of acetyl-carnitine daily

hopefully this will help me move the Dexascan results of bodyfat down again. I will keep you all posted but was also wondering if any one has any insight into the choline & carnitine issue?

Giving up smoking
What happens to carbs/sugars when in keto/fat adapted
Nicotine aids lipolysis. What to do when you quit nicotine?
(Michael) #2

There was also this thread but it didn’t get much traction:
Stalled Anyone? Perhaps try Choline supplementation…

(Mark Rhodes) #3

HAhaha…there goes my weekend, down the choline rabbit hole.

(Bunny) #4