Chicken Skin! (Deepfried in coconut oil)

(Jun Yutuc) #1

Greetings,

I am new to keto woe and Ive been seeing that people are enjoying pork rinds or what we call chicharon in the Philippines a keto friendly food.

Now, I am thinking that chicken skin might be better?

I have a friend who works in a restaurant and they just throw stuffs like chicken skin etc. So, what I did today was to collect all those skins they’ll throw into waste and make a chicharon out of it for snacking!

Is this healthy and can snack on it anytime? Deepfried in coconut oil, some batch ill cook it in oven.

Looks pretty darn yummy to me but I think it’s a crime to throw away chicken skins!

(Jun Yutuc) #3

It is! If I could just share it with you right now.

I had a 1 piece of skin right now and it tastes really good. Planning to snack on it later but since I am on my 27th hour of fast, ill hit the cardio machine first to burn calories before breaking my fast.

May the force be with me on this as Im really salvating already hehe!

(Mike Glasbrener) #4

Dang they look good!

(Ethan) #5

There is a Hungarian dish just like this for each kind of meat skin:

(Pete A) #6

You had me at “deep-fried in coconut oil” haha

(Rebecca) #7

I do them deep fried in lard and they are awesome.

(Joel) #8

As long as it is in coconut oil and not some hydrogenated alternative I say go for it. Looks yummy :hushed:

(Jun Yutuc) #9

Thanks everyone!

I enjoyed my dinner last night. Cebu Lechon with chicken skin!

(Georgia) #10

I visited a Filipino market the other day and saw chicken chicharrones for the first time. Can’t wait to try them.

(Ken) #11

One of the things my favorite Chinese buffet used to have was veggies rolled up in chicken skins and deep fried. (sprouts, bamboo shoots, cabbage, carrot slivers, scallions) I do it now at home, but don’t often get enough skins. I’d buy’em by the case if they were available.