Cheat days?

(Kassandra) #1

Hello! So im kind of new to this and im also doing Intermittent fasting, I was wondering, lets say i follow keto diet and follow my IT strictly, is it okay if after lets say 2 weeks i can have a cheat day? Like eat pizza or hamburger?

Depends on your goals I guess but proper fat adaption can take several months so I personally wouldn’t eat significant carbs for at least 3 months. Probably closer to 6 to be sure.

(Marius the butter craving dude) #3

Not so fast. First stay on it at least a month or two to get fat adapted.
Then maybe a carb snack once a month but not full cheat day. Keep the cheats for holidays :slight_smile:

(Allie) #4

If your first goal on keto is figuring out how to cheat it then maybe this isn’t the lifestyle for you.

(Scott) #5

I skip my cheat days…all of them!

(Eric - The patient needs to be patient!) #6

I skip cheat days. I have a tablespoon or two of refried beans. That is it. Still <20g / day.

(Sheri Knauer) #7

This!

(Kassandra) #8

of course there’s always someone with a negative attitude.
I was curious and If i decided to start the diet its because i want.

(Joanna Parszyk ) #9

Allie, l couldn’t agree more with you!

(Running from stupidity) #10

Yeah, that would be all of us.

(Kassandra) #11

Perfect! Thank you!

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #12

There are many folks who are using this way of eating to save their feet from diabetic peripheral neuropathy or reverse disease so when a new “dieter” comes in and asks about “cheat” days you’re going to get some irritated users. Of course, everyone eats off plan sometimes, that’s life, but you may not find tips and tricks for maintaining weight loss and also eating carbs on the ketogenic forum.

I’m not being mean or angry, just explaining.

(Kassandra) #13

Got it!! :slight_smile:

(Marius the butter craving dude) #14

Of course people here do cheats (some do). I did cheats this Christmas. But there are two aspects here: