Calories vs Keto

(Angelique Jury) #1

Hello everyone
I am brand new to keto. Still learning. I’ve been on keto for 4 days now. I am struggling a bit trying to marry calorie intake and keto. How do i know how many calories i should be eating knowing that my carbs are super low and fats super high.

Prev i was following a calorie diet of 1100 calories… but not limiting anything necessarily. Just eating healthily. Weight loss was not great at all. So keto here i come!! Lol. BUT ia 1100 to low for this new way of eating?

(Gargantuan B. Widebody) #2

Personally I do not count calories at all. I just prepare my meals based on my desired fat/protein/carb macros and eat. When I eat and how much is up to my body. When I am hungry I eat, when I am not hungry anymore I stop eating. If I am hungry again in 10 minutes I eat a little more.

(Allie) #3

Just eat. Keep carbs below 20g, aim for around 50 - 75g protein, and no limit on fats. Do not limit yourself. Do not make yourself feel deprived.

(Angelique Jury) #4

Ok thank you… this calorie thing really been confusing me.
Also… I’m eating salad every lunch and hvn veg wish my dinners. All these veg and salad seem to be keeping my carbs higher than i want. Any tips on how to rectify this?
Thank you

(Briton) #5

It really depends on your goals but in the beginning of keto follow your macros and eat until satisfied. To lose weight you do need to calorie restrict but wait till you have been in ketosis awhile and have good go to meals and snacks, etc. Good luck.

(Sharon A Peters) #6