Calorie surplus + additional carbs = kicked out of ketosis?

A strange thing happened to me yesterday- I was hoping to learn from it.

After 4 months, I lost all the weight I wanted to with keto. I started lifting weights about 1 month ago; and chose to put myself in a calorie surplus (but still keep keto macros). My reasoning was that I wanted to be able to maximize muscle building. I’ve had a slow but steady gain in my weight during the month.

With the weight-lifting, I feel like my blood sugars were improving. On keto- I had gone very low carb; even eliminating vegetables. Lately, I had been seeing a lot about CKD, and TKD. So I thought I would try to up my carbs a little (still less than 20gm/day and still from relatively good sources).

This seemed to be working fine until yesterday. I had a pretty typical breakfast- 3 eggs a lot of cheese and 2 sausages. The only difference was that I added a half cup of spaghetti sauce (says 5gm carbs) and had about a half cup of macadamia and almonds. Afterward, I felt more tired and groggy than usual pretty much like how I used to feel after a carb meal in the old days. I didn’t think that much about it. Figured I was just tired. This lasted about 3-4 hours; then I started feeling good, again. I skip lunch. Dinner was pretty typical also- 1 can of tuna with mayo and a lot of cheese. The only difference I had a fairly small salad (really just lettuce with a little caesar dressing; and about a 1/4 cup of macadamias and almonds. I also had a few fat bombs for desert. I noticed I felt “off” the rest of the evening. Again, I didn’t think that much of it. I checked my BS and blood ketones before bed, like I usually do and found that I was kicked out of ketosis.

That surprised me- and made me wonder if I was able to feel that- being in and out of ketosis through the day. Also, made me wonder if it was possible those few changes to my diet could really have an impact like that- especially in light of CKD and TKD strategies.