Caffeine effect BG levels?

(Tony H) #1

Hi, Im new to keto but a few days ago upon rising I had a cup of tea, no sugar just a splash of semi skimmed milk. My blood glucose went from 4.4 to 5.6 within 20 mins so the next day I had tea with a splash of unsweetened almond milk which has zero carbs in it and the same thing happened. I assumed it was the semi skimmed milk but apparently not. Is this caffeine effect? If it is, I regularly drink anything from 4-8 cups a day so assuming this will cause me issues getting into ketosis and will have to go?

(Stickin' with mammoth) #3

The short answer is maybe, but there’s only one way to find out for sure.

Instead of going cold turkey, though, try switching to half-caff or drinking half as many cups or drinking them at different times of day. Try one change at a time and do it for a week or more to isolate its effects from any daily variables you might be experiencing. Then, see how you feel. Experiment with taking it alone, taking it with food, taking it after food, taking it with zero carb, etc.

Not all of us respond predictably to the established rules of keto, not even the scientifically tested results. Luckily, this kind of testing is free. You’ll figure something out, don’t worry.

(Robin) #4

I switched to decaf years ago, and no issues and learned to love it. I drink that any cups a day too. Worth a try.

(Tony H) #5

I switched to a decaf coffee this morning with a splash of almond milk and went from 5.3 to 5.6 so much better response. Think I’ll cut down and switch to decaf. I dont really consume it for the caffeine (that I know of) I just like a hot drink.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #6

What always intrigues me about discussions of coffee and keto is that the discussion rarely centres on caffeine, only on coffee as a whole. Tea and caffeinated fizzy drinks never get mentioned in the discussion. And nobody will tell me why that is.