Burn glucose vs burn fat

(Marius the butter craving dude) #1

Why dose the medical community consider that our primary fuel is carbs/glucose; and mention ketons only as an emergency one or a secondary. Why is the accepted primary fuel source harmful… I mean if it the primary foul source it should do good. Dose the distinction primary and secondary/emergency between sugar burning and fat burning is a correct interpretation ?

Why do we have sugar burning for then ? I feel like sugar burning mode is actually the secondary metabolic state, not the primary. Yet our modern diet is abundant in carbs and we grow up to be full time sugar burners.

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #2

This makes more sense to me as well. I’m still learning and reading though. Good questions!

(Mike W.) #3

Your brain runs on glucose no matter what metabolic state you’re in.

(Marius the butter craving dude) #4

Yes, but we can produce our own glucose from proteins in the liver.
Question is what is the body’s preferred/optimal state: burn fat and create it’s own glucose or burn glucose for all organs. ? And I am on the keto side. Keto for me did wonders.

(Mike W.) #5

I got you. I think it prefers to burn fat. It’s a more efficient fuel

Do you know what percentage of glucose (vs ketones) is required by the brain? I think many brain cells use ketones preferentially, but there are some kinds that need glucose.

(Marius the butter craving dude) #7

Still my dilemma is what is the proper function and purpose of carb metabolism… Why the mainstream view glucose as the recommended fuel source for humans.

(Jane) #8

Follow the money when it comes to “mainstream views”. Carbs are cheap to produce, most have long shelf life and profitable.

(Carl Keller) #9