Brand new but excited

(Jan) #1

Hi, I’m new to Keto. I’m 58 and all my life I’ve been unable to gain weight (due prob to high metabolism) hit my fifties, and the menopause and I’ve suddenly gained 15kg in two years, and my diet hasn’t changed at all, just my metabolism I guess. It’s so disheartening, but after doing a lot of research about Keto, I think this may be for me. Has anyone any tips to get started please. Thanks in advance

(Marianne) #2

Welcome.

Keep the carbs below 20g/day, and even lower if you can. Go to ketokarma.com and use their free calculator to get your fat and protein macro. Make a simple database of the fat, carb and protein macros in the foods you will eat most commonly (different meats, cheese, bacon, pepperoni, cream, veggies, mayo, eggs, etc.), and then plan your meals to meet or exceed the protein and fat macro, and keep the carb macro under 20.

I always suggest when starting to eat three meals a day, even if you never did. It will help your body acclimate to your new way of eating, alleviate hunger and cravings and prevent wanting to snack. After 2-3 weeks, you probably won’t want to eat as much or as often. You can do one or two meals a day, or 16:8 eating window, etc. Drink lots of water, a couple of glasses of which are salted.

Try not to weigh yourself too much, don’t count calories, and enjoy your eating and your meals. I’d suggest shopping at big discount clubs (Sam’s, BJs, Costco, etc.). Buy meat in bulk, take home and package in individual servings, and freeze. My husband and I generally eat one meal a day now that consists of a nice piece of meat (all kinds of pork is a favorite), and a simple vegetable in butter and maybe some bacon grease.

Best to you!

(Jack Bennett) #3

Welcome! :grinning:

This is a great post to start with, to keep things simple at first.

(mole person) #4