Bicycle Recommendations

(Ethan) #1

I’m a newbie and not interested in competing. I haven’t biked in over 25 years–and even then I was a noice. My son will be learning how to bike, and I plan to bike with him around the neighborhood. I am currently deciding between these bikes and need advice:

Option 1: Infinity Boss Three $170 at Costco:
http://infinitycycleworks.com/product/boss-three-mens-7-speed/
I would have to buy my own gear for it

Option 2: Fuji Crosstown 2.3 2018 $330:
https://www.performancebike.com/shop/bikes-frames/path-pavement-bikes/street-hybrid-bikes-400321/fuji-crosstown-23-comfort-bike-2018-31-8577
I would get 10% back to buy gear and a tune up after 1 year free

Option 3: Fuji Crosstown 2.3 2018 $250:
https://www.performancebike.com/shop/bikes-frames/path-pavement-bikes/street-hybrid-bikes-400321/fuji-crosstown-23-comfort-bike-2017-31-6186

Option 4: Fuji Crosstown 1.3 2017 $450:
https://www.performancebike.com/shop/bikes-frames/path-pavement-bikes/street-hybrid-bikes-400321/fuji-crosstown-13-comfort-bike-2017-31-6182

Option 5: Fuji Crosstown 2.1 2018 $450:
https://www.performancebike.com/shop/bikes-frames/path-pavement-bikes/street-hybrid-bikes-400321/fuji-crosstown-21-comfort-bike-2018-31-8575

Option 6 Fuji Crosstown 1.3 2018 $500:
https://www.performancebike.com/shop/bikes-frames/path-pavement-bikes/street-hybrid-bikes-400321/fuji-crosstown-13-disc-comfort-bike-2018-31-8573

(Scott O) #2

I would suggest checking FB Marketplace for a cheap used Hybrid. Then search YouTube for “Walmart hybrid”. The videos will really give you a good idea why you should or shouldn’t buy a more expensive bike. If the bike is going to sit in your garage, then there’s no reason to spend a lot.

Another option is to check with your friends and see what they ride. Then make it into social move. An old high school friend and I ride together a few times a week. We call each other using BlueTooth w/ noise cancelling mic. It’s the perfect time to talk about life.