Best Ketogenic Vegetables - In order of importance for you

vegetables

(VLC.MD) #1

I was inspired by this How to Keto 1 page list you can put on a fridge by @stacy
Here is the post …

I don’t know if this is helpful but my 15 year old son recently started keto (my wife and I have been doing it for four years), and I put a list on the side of the fridge to help him out (copied below), with simple instructions: If it’s not on the list, don’t eat it.

He said this was really helpful with his decision-making. He has already lost 15 pounds in five weeks and he feels great.

Meats:
Beef — hamburger, steak, roast
Chicken
Pork — bacon, ham
Fish
Turkey
Sausage

Eggs

Butter, mayonnaise

Whole fat milk, cream & cheeses

Nuts: macadamias, almonds, pecans, walnuts

Olive oil, coconut oil

Berries — limited

Avocados

Low carb veggies:
broccoli
cauliflower
brussel sprouts
asparagus
spinach
squash
cabbage

Source:

So I love (t)his low carb veggie list, but I thought, cucumbers would be a good addition to that list. So would lettuce.

What would you add to her good Veggie List ? Would you take away anything ?

I guess I’d like to see what veggies people actually eat, and which veggies people avoid.

To make a list … I’ve made a list of priorities. Anyone got some other good priorities ?

Priorities:

• the newbie will eat them / ie. palatability
  • in most fridges
  • lower the carbs or “insulin load” the better
  • people will know them (ie. WTH is beet greens, snap beans, chayote ?)
  • has nutrients (must have more nutrients as the carbs go up) .ie. good nutrient density per carb.
  • easy to prepare

All help appreciated.

Try to make the list in order of importance for you are your ketogenic success / what you perceive as successful for others. The idea might be … when you are going to eat carbs which veggies do you “Spend them” on ?

(Duncan Kerridge) #2

I might take milk off the list, very easy to bump up your carbs with that if it’s more than a splash in tea or coffee