Behold: Steak Mountain (aka carnivore weekend)

(Windmill Tilter) #1

Certified angus chuck roast was on sale today for $2.99 a pound! I promptly asked the butcher if he had a trash can for my shopping list and bought 0.8 stone (11.25lbs).

Naturally, the best looking ones were 3" thick, freshly cut, and sitting in the display case. I took all of them. The butcher looked annoyed by that, which didn’t dampen my mood in the least. He should have hid them if he didn’t want me to take them all.:yum: Anyhow, now that I have this mountain of meat, I plan on eating nothing but meat all weekend just for fun. I’ve never done that before, but it sounds lovely.

So here I am with roughly 12,000kcals of chuck, which coincidentally is exactly how many I plan to eat in the next 3 days during my refeed. The question is, what should I do with these beauties? My first thought was just to smoke them all low and slow at 225 over a mix of cherry and maple. But that takes half a day and I’ve just come off a 90hr fast. I’m hungry. I’ll smoke two tomorrow and cook one now.

Chuck roast is usually something that benefits from a long cook time. I’m trying to think of something that will put a 4lb chuckie on my plate in the next hour. Any ideas?

Karim's Extended Fast Tracker - come along for the ride
(Robert C) #2

No ideas from me but - now you know how you’ll react to a 90 hour fast! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

(Andi loves space, bacon and fasting. ) #3

No ideas from me but that pictures makes my day!! Congrats on the 90 hour fast!

Have fun with your steaks!!

(Robert C) #4

Vegan: “How do you break your fast” - “A few almonds and small berries dipped in honey”

Carnivore: “How do you break your fast” - “Meat - bigger than my head”

(Robert C) #5

Honestly, I would cut it into little pieces and cook it in a pot with some spices to have it come out like an all meat chili. Then add sour cream and top with cheese if you do dairy.