Beginner Keto Tips

I am a beginner and I’ve found some things seem to work for me:

1. Be patient, don’t give up or cheat
  2. Stay hydrated and consume electrolytes
  3. Read labels for hidden carbs, only eat approved foods until you get an idea of what’s good
  4. You don’t have to exercise to lose weight but it is healthy: cardio and weights
  5. Try fasting once you’re fat adapted
  6. Give up alcohol and drink black coffee if you really want to lose weight
  7. Don’t completely pig out on butter, oils, cream, and bacon if you have a lot of weight to lose: eat plenty of green vegetables, eggs, nuts, avocado

What are your tips for beginners?

(John) #2

I would add:

• Don’t replace unhealthy snacking with regular keto snacking. Try to confine your food intake to 2 or 3 full meals.

Occasional keto-safe snacks are OK in the beginning if that’s what gets you past a craving or hunger pang, and to keep on hand for emergencies (like- you get stuck at work late) but once you are more adapted you should try to get to where you don’t eat between meals.

That’s a good tip. That reminds me to eat until satiety but not stuffed or still hungry.

I’m a couple of weeks in and love Keto. I easily have just one meal a day and enjoy it more than the old standard way of eating. I would have to take the nuts off my list as I can’t eat just a handful. And I have to watch butter; I can just eat it by the spoonfuls if I let myself! Yum. Love my well marbled Prime ribeyes, also bacon and eggs. Not a big vege eater so I don’t eat much of those. I don’t count calories or macros. I just follow DietDoctors 7 basic rules and it seems to be working. (Dietdoctor.com)

(Running from stupidity) #5

“Tracking is educating yourself - do this to learn about your food and how you react to it.”

If you’re starving in the beginning - it’s okay to eat more food!