BANNED POST: Tips for newbies from a 5 year low-carber

keto
newbies

(Gabe “No Dogma, Only Science Please!” ) #1

So this post has (apparently) been banned by one of those “for beginners” Facebook keto groups; that particular group has nearly 2m members and they seem only to approve posts from newbies that they can then comment on with an ad for their paid “keto” program. So I thought I’d post it here.

Newbies, you’ve come to the right place! Read on, because I’ve been doing this for nearly 5 years and I can break this sh!t down nice and simple for you. This is just my advice and my story; I have nothing to sell you. I’ll give you the basics up front:

If you’re a newbie, keep things simple:

• No sugar, no starches.
  • Eat when you’re hungry, stop when you’re full.
  • Eat from the approved list of foods (link below).
  • Eat whole, healthy foods: meat, green veg, fish, and healthy fats.
  • Avoid eating cr@p out of a package, especially if it says “keto friendly” or “low carb.”
  • Avoid d@mn vegetable oils. Learn about what’s a healthy oil and what isn’t.
  • Here’s your approved foods: https://www.australianparadox.com/pdf/why-we-get-fat.pdf
    Please, do yourself a favour, click that link, and follow the guide. There’s a reason Taubes put it in the appendix to his seminal, world-changing book, “Why We Get Fat.” (It’s Dr Eric Westman’s old-school low carb diet for his patients at Duke University.)
  • Don’t bother measuring ketones. You’ll feel it when you’re in the zone.
  • BONUS: For inspiration, read/watch/listen to material about low carb. Lectures by Taubes, Phinney, Westman, Noakes, Lustig are good for starters
  • BONUS: Learn about blood work and get the right tests done.
  • BONUS: Get a continuous glucose monitor for real-time data on how different foods affect you.