Bad Calcium Score. How to reduce it

(zee) #1

Hello I am a software developer and got into keto diet cuz i am big fan of Carl Franklin! Well after being 4 months of low carb, i got my blood panel done which was high but then i got my calcium score which was 120! It is shockingly high for my age of 35. Doctor immediately put me on statin and very low carb diet and asked me to drop my weight by 40lbs. Below are my details if anyone can help me, it would be great.

Physical activity very little. sit on my desk and code all day.
Recenly diagnosed with blood pressue but not too high so taking 10mg
Weight: 200lbs
height: 5ā€™11

Below are my questions.

1. Can i continue down the path of going 20 carbs or less and also be taking statin every day. My cardiologist wants me to stay very low carb and also be taking statins at the same time.

2. He wants me to stay away from saturated fat and stay in moderation as far as fat cuz of high calcium score. He says since there are not enough studies yet on high fat diet and what results it will have over a long period of time on my cardio vascular systm, its better to keep it in moderation. Before my calcium score, he was fine with ketogenic way but then after getting cac numbers he says keep low carb, eat lean meant, no fruits, wheat grain. Stick with lean meat and green leefy vegetables which has very minimum carbs.

3. The very important question, can this be cured? how can i reduce my calcium score or can it be done at all by staying low carb and intermittent fasting?

4. What numbers should i look for in my lipid panel to determine if my caclcium score is increasing. Since LDL numbers are not reliable based on what everyone say and lipid panel results are not a definate answer, how do i know if my disease is increasing or decreasing since i cannot do another calcium in any near future. What other metrics or test that can be done to determine how i am doing every 6 months.