Avocado troubles

(Daniel Crispin) #1

Hey guys,

I feel like a noob here but I am having issues with Avocados.

First, I have never purchased an avocado in my entire life, and I am 46. But after reading about how good they are for your health and how important they are on a Keto diet, I purchased 2 bags of them. About 12 total.

I know there are 2 types of avocados, I purchased the small ones that are round and the size of a small orange, not the large ones that are the shape of a pear.

So… I battled with one to get it open for about 5 mins. then I tried to remove the meat from the skin and was unable to. I cut into it with a knife and tried to use a spoon to scoop it out but I could not get my spoon to penetrate the meat of the fruit. It was hard like rock. I ended up throwing the thing in the garbage.

So what am I doing wrong here? I leave the in the fridge, could that be the issue? If not, is it because they are not ripe? If so how do you tell when they are?

HELP!

(Allie) #2

Sounds like they’re not ripe. Never keep mine in the fridge.
If you look online there are video demonstrations of how to prep them.

(Sophie) #3

avocado

(Allie) #4

You can prep them and freeze them to avoid waste, I do this lots.

(Daniel Crispin) #5

Ok. How do you tell when they are ripe?

(Bacon for the Win) #6

it will feel a bit soft when you squeeze. But don’t squeeze too hard, if it is ripe you’ll bruise the fruit. Here’s what I do. I buy 2 or 3 at a time and put them in a small paper bag for 2 days. Check them, if ripe they go in the fridge. Sometimes they need one more day.

(Damon Chance) #7

I was about to say buying 12 is a recipe for disappointment then I read the comment about freezing them… I feel really silky for not thinking about this before.

Any tips on freezing them correctly?

(Tim W) #8