Ask Coach Allan

(Allan Misner) #1

Welcome to the Ask Coach Allan Topic!

When Carl was in Pensacola Beach for a Keto Minifest, we talked about setting up this forum. Many of us get into ketosis, have tons (also spelled tonnes?) of energy and don’t know how to use it. I’d like to help you with that.

Please post questions about exercise, motivation, rest, recovery, etc. I am an NASM certified personal trainer with specialization in corrective exercise, functional aging, and fitness nutrition (which was bunk because it touted the US govt guidelines). I eat ketogenic and train hard. I’m not here to coach you through keto, just help you maximize your fitness using keto.

Let’s stay calm, keto on, and get fit!

Beginning an exercise regime
Calorie restriction?
(Katie the Quiche Scoffing Stick Ninja ) #2

Hi Allan!

Welcome to the forum!

When reaching a goal weight and beginning to exercise again during a ketogenic maintenance period, do you think it’s best to exercise entirely keto adapted or to introduce some healthy carb cycling before heavy lifting?

I tend to use work out days as an excuse to cheat, like today I am going to eat some chinese even though I know it’s completely bad and not at all the right type of carb, lol.

Also, I still have about 3-5kg to lose, do you think it’s best I continue with extending fasting to lose that body fat before I attempt to add some gains in the gym? Or is working out redundant right now if i’m attempting to strip body fat?

I appreciate your response! :slight_smile:

I have edited because I thought of another question;

Do you know roughly how much muscle glycogen is burned during a 30 minute body building workout?

(Wendy) #3

I have a question about firming abs. I am at mataince weight and have lost my abdominal fat but would like to firm up my abdominal muscles.
I’m 53, pretty fit but not athletic. 5’6 132 lbs .
I can suck my gut in pretty far but at rest is just a little flabby. I imagine some of it is skin.