Are vitamins necessary on carnivore?

(Marianne) #1

Since February, I have been eating basically zero carb, although not total carnivore. Although I don’t eat any veggies, I may have some occasional cheese, heavy cream in my coffee, ghee, eggs, bacon grease, etc., but not every day. I am very interested now in exploring what is carnivore.

Anyway, should I be taking a multivitamin or supplements if all I am eating is basically meat?

Hi, sounds like you have been doing carnevore all along.:slight_smile: Im kinda new at it, but i dont think any special supplementation is required. Unless there should be issues popping up. So thats individual i guess.

Track what you eat with crononmeter and see what micronutients you’re coming up deficient in. Your body needs what it needs regardless of your WOE, if you’re not eating organs I’d think you’re probably deficient in some stuff.

Other than eggs there’s nothing in there. Bacon grease isn’t a food, I just threw all that stuff in cronometer together, aside from the protein aminos that gives you some B vitamins and Selenium, that’s pretty much it aside from trace amounts of a few others.

That is relaxed carnivore and you are fine doing just that.

Dairy is personal. Do you do well on it and can keep it or must ditch it?

ANY NON-food item like a spice to meat, or a tad of fresh garlic on chicken is fine as long as it ain’t ‘your meal’ as in a few cups of broccoli with that chicken, so any spice you do well on, any herb taste you do well on with your meal IS FINE to help us ‘keep carnivore’ and change.