Are pee strips worthless?

(Jim) #1

I’m new to keto (today is day 13). I was under the impression that pee strips were pretty useful early on, but with diminishing returns as your body adapts. Is that accurate or are they just mostly useless altogether?

I had ordered some as they are cheap, but UPS screwed up the delivery and now I’m thinking I might just cancel the order and get a blood tester from Walgreens.

Any thoughts or advice is appreciated.

Yes.

(Karen) #3

Pretty much yes, at least after you’ve been in ketosis for a while. Early on they can be useful just to see that you were actually in ketosis. Dr. Bosworth certainly recommend using them early on.

(Christy) #4

No. It’s a really inexpensive way to gauge whether or not your body is producing ketones in the early stages, prior to becoming fat adapted. Once your body starts using the ketones instead of spilling them, the blood tester is the route to take.

(less is more, more or less) #5

For measuring ketones on a low-carb diet, yes, they are unnecessary and add complexity and confusion. They do provide vital information in other contexts, however.

(Scott) #6

I bought them and never used them if that tells you anything.

(Allie) #7

This option.

(Andi loves space, bacon and fasting. ) #8

I think they are fun when you are new, so you can see that the WOE really works. They’re so inexpensive, and seeing that deep purple for the first time was totally worth it for me.

(Karen) #9

I was going to Metabolic Research diet advisers. They have Ketone strips in the bathroom so early on in ketosis I used them at appointments . It was satisfying to see them turning colors. But after while they didn’t. So I guess I was using my ketones.

I now have a keto mojo. I’ve only done a few tests, but I appear not to be diabetic, or insulin resistant, or very deep into ketosis. At least that’s useful information. KCKO

(Little Miss Scare-All) #10