Any bodybuilders here?

(Erin ) #1

Or knowledgeable weight trainers?

I came across this article…

Is this accurate?

I’m stuck because I feel like I’m being pulled in two different directions. I started training and keto at the same time. I really need to build muscle (I am no where near a bodybuilder but figure you would have the most knowledge on the topic) I went through a lot of muscle wasting during my pregnancy year. I also need to loose 10lbs (I guess I should say body fat % instead of “Weight” so I’m at 24% and want to get down to at least 20%.)

I’m conflicted and feel like I should get off keto and go back to traditional low fat high protein with carb cycling if I want to gain a good amount of muscle.

If I’m doing under 20g carbs or less and 25% protein how could I build muscle that way?

So far I’ve done nothing in either direction lol. I’m training and haven’t built muscle and I’ve been doing keto for almost 4 weeks and haven’t lost any BF.

This article is interesting but it’s kind of overwhelming.

What’s your take on this? Should I try to incorporate the creatine and protein powder? But then I’m afraid of going too heavy on protein. I feel like this is a very fine line.

Is it easier to build muscle with traditional weight lifting type diet and then move into keto after I’ve built it up?

IDK I am lost :woman_facepalming:t2:

(Chris) #2

Aim for 1g per pound of bodyweight with protein. If you plan to build muscle on keto, I suggest 20-25g or less total carbs, and enough fat to fill in energy needs.

You can lose fat and build muscle on any diet given enough protein and a sufficient amount of calories for the goal.

Let me ask you a question. Was your low fat carb cycling working for you?

(Lazy, Dirty Keto 😝) #3

@April_Harkness

(Edith) #4