Am I screwing myself over?

keto
newbies
science
exercise

(Heather Meyer) #1

So… im new(ish) to weight lifting on Keto. When i used to be on Keto, i was swiming laps daily for an hour ( 1 mile swim). I was leaning out and looking really toned. I lost a massive amount of inches.

So i am new to the weight training +Keto and its been 2 months since i began Keto and a little under a month at the gym. I workout on average for 2 hours(I know its too long… im reading body by science right now) and i lift weights and do body weight exercises as well. I do this 3x per week and then i swim 2x3 times per week for a mile each time and then do 1x active recovery walk for 30 minutes on the dreadmill.

Diet wise… i have been doing 20:4 (not the same as OMAD for those curious) and i average around 10-20 Net…not above. And my calories can be anywhere from 600-1100(i do 2x 24hr fasts per week) and (1x 16:8) and 1(no fast) day.

Here is the thing… the scale continues to drop. I have dropped 20lbs in 2 months. Thats good. I was guessing that kind of average roughly per month so im on track. But i took measurements with a tape measure and they dont make sense. My measurements have only gone down on average 0.5 inch in each area. And yet at the same time…all of my clothes are so baggy on me that people say to buy new clothes.

So am i screwing myself up somehow? Is there a reason why the inch loss doesnt seem to corelate to my weight lost? Am i supoosed to be gaining inches cause im in the gym? I am super confused by all of this now. I thought i was doing well and i find that my measurements practically havent changed even though my weight on a scale has…??? Makes me want to cry.

(Robert C) #2

600 to 1100 calories per day plus multiple 24 hour fasts with a heavy workout regime and you are a 5’11” female…yes, you might be screwing yourself over.

Of course,I do not know for sure but, it really looks like “eat less, exercise more”. Which, as everyone knows, will work until it doesn’t.