Allergies

(Mark) #1

Hi all, newbie here. Thinking about inflamation reduction, anyone experience a reduction in hayfever symptoms on a keto diet? Is there a connection? Or just wishfull thinking? Would be a blessing if keto reduced my allergic reaction.

(Bob M) #2

Pre-keto, I was taking 2 24-hour tablets a day (one in the morning, one in the evening). Post-keto, some years, I take none; other years (like this one - hot and dry, with little rain at all), I take a handful a year.

I think Iā€™d even be better this year, but Iā€™ve been eating things like hot peppers, which cause a reaction or exacerbate the allergies I have. But I decided to grow tomatoes and hot peppers, and only the peppers really produced. Iā€™ve fermented many large jars of peppers.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #3

It will probably take some time, but you should see an improvement in symptoms. A ketogenic diet tends to lower systemic inflammation and strengthen the immune system, so allergies do improve. Though they will probably not go away entirely without desensitisation treatments.

(Mark) #4

Thatā€™s encouraging. Any medication free relief is worth it, howevever small. I suspect there is a link to diet and allergy, but have no evidence. Thanks for sharing.

(Robin) #5

Reduced inflammation is a given on keto. And now that you askā€¦ my allergies, even seasonal have pretty much disappeared. And itā€™s quite possible that some of the foods I eliminated were the cause of my allergies.

(Mark) #6

Brilliant. Makes sense. I am quietly confident that is the case. Looking forward to next season.

It would be so difficult to get good data on that.
It depends what you are allergic to. If its a crop that rotates like oil seed rape then yoĆŗll have different problems every year depending how close to you it is.

I have found hay fever to always be worse the heavier I am. Maybe for the same reason that snoring is worse when I have heavier.