All in 1 keto / glucose monitoring?

(David ) #1

Hi all - newbie here started my keto journey about 5 months ago just before lockdown and lost about 12kg - so really happy with the results so far.

I was wondering if there was a blood keto monitoring device that also can measure blood glucose on the SAME STRIP? Most meters seem to require 2 different strips one for ketones and one for blood glucose - suggestions?

Also what is the most accurate keto monitoring via breath? I have a product from House of Keto but it only registers when my keto are high (say between 1.2 - 3.0) and has difficulty registering when I am below 1.

Advice appreciated, thanks all
Dave

Not as far as I know, they’re doing different things. If you’re 5mo in, getting good results I’d recommend not wasting the money testing stuff that doesn’t matter. Spend it on meat! Ketone levels don’t correlate with fat loss speed, so testing them is near pointless unless you’ve got a medical condition that requires you to maintain them at a high level for other benefits. Same goes for the glucose testing, unless you’re a diabetic that’s monitoring diabetes reversal, you already know the difference at this point from high/low glycemic foods. You know your number is moving around all day anyways, you’re not going to “spike” yourself so who cares what it is?

(Bob M) #3

To me, the thing I would use if I could is a CGM (continuous glucose monitor). I used one for over a year, and even keto, it helped me. For instance, soup from a restaurant that I thought was “safe” caused a huge blood sugar spike. I found that my highest blood sugar occurred around 11 am, my lowest at night about midnight or so. And nothing I did changed this.

I found I could eat as much protein as I wanted and got no immediate blood sugar rise. If there was a blood sugar rise over time, I could not find it.

The food that caused the worst, longest blood sugar rise? Real pizza.