Alcohol on Keto

Partner and I are 2 weeks in Keto and we love it. Feeling better and having some awesome meals. I’m very anal about the food intake while on Keto, partner is little more cas. But I love a vodka and Soda water and a wine before dinner. I don’t drink after dinner.
What’s happening here? Can I still lose weight doing this? Honestly not keen on giving up alcohol, we’re travelling aus living the dream and we like an arvo drink.
I know losing weight is clearly easier ilimating alcohol but if anyone has other ideas on the scenario I would love to hear.

(Ingrid ) #2

Interested to see what people say regarding this. I am also new to keto but having difficulty giving up my wine. I limit to 2 glasses per evening.

(VLC.MD) #3

Alcohol can easily stall / reduce weight loss. In general alcohol is easy on insulin though so it isn’t bad on Keto. Not ideal though.

I don’t drink daily, but have no issues drinking on the weekends, usually mixed drinks vs. beer or wine. I have seen people in this forum say they drink wine daily. IMHO, I think the mixers (if you don’t make sure they’re low carb) are bigger trouble than the alcohol, so I’m very careful what I mix it with. I think this is one of those gray areas that can be different depending on the person.

(Peter Finnegan) #5

I’m also struggling with this issue. I’ve given up almost all carbs and mainly spend my carb grams on a couple of beers with my one meal a day. I’ve been trying red wine the last couple of weeks in the interest of lower carbs but not sure If that’s a better alternative. I may try whiskeys instead to reduce my carbs.

RayD8
“Pete”

(Laydee Gee) #6

I’m very interested in this topic too. I’ve been on Keto for 4wks and peaked at 1.8 ketones during week 3. I then went on the work team show, had 6 drinks in total, mostly dry white wine - it booted me out of ketosis entirely (0.4) and a week later of strict keto eating, I’m STILL only 0.5!
So frustrating.
Anyone else had this experience?