About the Fasting Females category

According to some ‘experts’ women shouldn’t fast. Jason Fung says this is bullshit. I agree. So this is a place for Fasting Females to gather and prove Fung right. @Brenda I am counting on you to lead the charge.

(8 year Ketogenic Veteran) #2

I will be making a “Zornfast” subcategory as well.

That’s ridiculous. I fasted 33 days, just water, coffee, tea, only a few times had broth. And that’s it!

(Cathy Schroder) #4

I’m pretty new to fasting but over the past few months have managed to dabble successfully with intermittent fasting and have several smaller fasts of up to sixty hours. I’m currently attempting an eighty hour fast (three and a half days) and really want to try a week soon. I’m five to ten kg away from my goal weight (I haven’t set anything definitive yet) and I want to get even tighter control over my blood glucose and insulin. It’s a little scary seeing my blood glucose dip so low but my GP is very supportive and says I don’t need to be concerned. He’s not so keen on the seven day fast but I allayed some of his concerns by quoting Dr Fung’s results and he didn’t say no so watch this space. Here’s hoping that I will have the willpower to do it.

My longest was 35 days…water only.

Great to see this new category!

@debby, excellent job!

Just curious…did you notice any changes with your tongue during the fast? I did.

Yeah, the lovely tongue coating…I use a tongue scraper!

(AnnaLeeThal) #8

Sweet! I’m curious if women time fasting around their cycles. For instance, since we are trying to conceive I feel like the safest time for me to fast is at the beginning of my cycle. I like the idea of a monthly fast that coincides with my period. Too bad I can’t also incorporate the isolation and rest that used to be common for menstruating women. If you need me I’ll be in my red tent…bring me tea.

The only thing I would say is that you may need to include some fat especially if you are a bit short on your own supply!