A ghee question

(Lyn Simmons) #1

I am new to the ketogenic lifestyle. I recently purchased ghee. It was the only kind in a grocery store I stopped in, I tried it in my bulletproof coffee this morning in place of butter. The smell was horrible as well as the taste. It smelled literally like a barn. I burped all morning and tasted that smell. Does all ghee smell and taste that horrendous? I barely could choke my coffee down but it was my breakfast so I did. The ghee cost $18 so I thought it must be good and it was middle eastern… Somebody tell me that there is better tasting stuff out there, please?

Sorry to say this…but you spent way too much money for that product. If it tastes like it is off, bring it back to the store and get your money back.

Next time, do this…make your own ghee…really simple…here’s how:

Buy some butter, doesn’t have to be fancy, just whatever in the store, like this…

Melt the butter in a saucepan…

Pour melted butter in glass measuring cup…

The yellow clarified butter (ghee) layer will separate from the white milk solids. Yellow layer at the top can be poured into a glass jar…and that’s your homemade ghee.

(Lyn Simmons) #3

Thank you very very much!!! :smile:

Also if you want to get every last bit of fatty goodness you can chill the jug until the top layer of fat it solid and then it is super easy to drain off every last bit of whey without losing a drop of the ghee!

Yup. I make my own ghee for the same reasons. The shop bought stuff mostly smells bad. Yes. Like a farmyard. There is one good brand I have found…
I will however add some details to the above ghee recipe if I may.