A doctor's experience of extended fasting!

(Lisa ) #1

Hi everyone, Lisa here! I’ve been lurking and posting over the last few days. Long story short, I am a Kiwi doctor who has gone from obese (BMI of 38) to a normal BMI (24.4). I have done keto on and off, and after reading Dr Fung and Jimmy Moore’s books and listening to 2ketodudes I’ve decided to do an N=1 experiment. The reason? To be able to give some solid advice and help my patients. This is the opposite of what I was taught in med school, but I really think y’all are on the money here with keto and fasting. So far I’m at about 70 hours in, ketones up to 3.0 and feeling good after exercising. Oh, and for those interested my pre-fast stats were: Weight 75.7kg (167lbs) and height 174cm (5’9). Currently sitting at about 73.9kg, but I know that’s going to fluctuate! Feel free to join me - any advice would be well-received :smile:

(Karen) #2

Fantastic!! You’ll have surprisingly good results.

K

(Carl Keller) #3

Welcome Lisa. It’s so refreshing to see a humble doctor here who is willing to embrace something that goes against the advice of conventional medicine. The people here are living proof that keto works. We have learned how to take control of our minds, our bodies and our way of eating… We have hi octane energy and the way we eat has a positive domino effect on so many of our body’s systems. It truly seems unfair that the masses don’t realize that keto can change their lives for the better and it is not that difficult. We need people like you to help spread the word. :slight_smile:

(Lisa ) #4