50 yrs old Three weeks in- a bit discouraged

(Donna K) #1

Help! I am new at this. Other than constipation and bloating- I feel fantastic, but my weight loss is minimal. I walk at least 4 times 50 minutes fast pace, eat less than 15 carbs a day, plenty of fat, water, and proteins. I am just not moving in the scale. I did Akins years ago and it fell off. Advice? I am 50 and am 5’10 169

(Chris) #2

How many calories in a day?

(Donna K) #3

Calories vary-900- 1000

(Full Metal KETO AF) #4

Starvation mode is kicking in.

(Janelle) #5

First, you’re a woman and 50. It’s harder. (I know - I am 50).

Then, you can’t really have that much to lose. That makes it harder. Curious - how much are you wanting to lose? At 5’10”, you’re very close to normal BMI.

And finally, now everyone will now tell you you’re starving yourself. I know that even Atkins never would have restricted calories like that. That’s a surefire way to train your body that not enough food is coming in so hang on to the weight.

Maybe use an app like Chronometer to find out how many you should actually be eating. Read up on keto. Really, it’ll never work as a starvation diet.

(Donna K) #6

I don’t understand- I thought fasting was a good thing

(Janelle) #7

Fasting is NO food for a set amount of time. Please read up on it before you do harm to your health.

(Robert C) #8

Fasting is good after months in and totally fat adapted. Then it is best in a non-regular pattern - skipping meal or days of eating but not lowering daily calories (which might slow metabolism).

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #9

Fasting is a good thing, once someone is fat-adapted. Till then, it’s a stress the body doesn’t need.

But calorie restriction is never helpful, because the body slows down to compensate. With no food at all, it keeps the metabolism revved up, so we have the energy to go out and take down the next wooly mammoth.

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #10